A sales process of ours in 7.2 LAN became obselete. We were not sure if changing the stages & steps etc on this sales process would affect the opportunities it is currently attached to (which we dont want to happen) so we created a version 2 of the same process and told users NOT to use the old version from that point forward.
But of course they are still using the old one when creating new opportunities!! So if we were to un-release or delete the old sales process would it affect opportunities it is already attached to?? And also the same question if we had amended the orignal rather than creating a new one (should this situation come up again in the future).
You will not effect any of the Sales Processes already attached to an Opportunity. You can choose to reassign the new process to an opportunity, but if left alone, it will remain with the old process.