Disabling the SalesLogix 8x Dynamic Form Gereration Cache

When doing development in the SalesLogix web client it is often useful to deploy the website and then open the deployed pages and user controls and edit them directly to try different code or troubleshoot problems.  In version 8 of the SalesLogix web client making changes to the deployed files in the web site does not immediately get reflected in the client.  This makes development impossible because you don’t know if changes you are trying are reflected yet in the client.

This all has to do with the dynamic customization capabilities of quick forms introduced in v8 of SalesLogix.

You can disable the dynamic form generation & caching by following the following steps (Note: only do this in a development environment!)

1. Open the web.config file.

2. Search for “wfg”

3. You should see the following lines of code:

    <system.web>
<!– WFG: dynamic quick forms enabled; switch following two lines to disable –>
<!–<globalization culture=”auto” uiCulture=”auto”/>–>
<globalization culture=”auto” uiCulture=”auto” resourceProviderFactoryType=”Sage.Platform.QuickForms.WebFormGen.Web.UpdatableResXResourceProviderFactory, Sage.Platform.QuickForms.WebFormGen”/>

4. Change that code so that the second line is not commented out and the third line is instead, like so:

    <system.web>
<!– WFG: dynamic quick forms enabled; switch following two lines to disable –>
<globalization culture=”auto” uiCulture=”auto”/>
<!–<globalization culture=”auto” uiCulture=”auto” resourceProviderFactoryType=”Sage.Platform.QuickForms.WebFormGen.Web.UpdatableResXResourceProviderFactory, Sage.Platform.QuickForms.WebFormGen”/>–>

5. Save your changes to the web.config file.

6. Under the App_Code folder open the Global.cs file.

7. Comment out the first line, which should be:

#define EnableDynamicFormSupport

To be:

//#define EnableDynamicFormSupport

8. Save your changes to the  Global.cs file.

9. Deploy your web site if you made these changes in the Application Architect

10. Run an IISRESET

Changes now made to the deployed web files should immediately show in your browser. Remember this change should only be made in a development environment.  In production you should undo these changes.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Kris Halsrud

Kris Halsrud is a Senior Analyst / Developer for Customer FX Corporation.

1 Comment

  1. Ken SLX has the ability to use SalesLogix disconnected and synchronize back to the central site

    Reply

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest Infor CRM (Saleslogix) and Creatio (bpm'online) news and product updates!

You have Successfully Subscribed!