Clearing user default settings in the SalesLogix web client

Each user of the SalesLogix web client can define various user based  settings while they are using the SalesLogix web client.  Things such as splitter height, visible tabs, open tabs, etc are all stored per user.  Sometimes these settings block other changes that you would like to force out administratively.  For instance what if you decide you want to set the tab order on the account page to be a particular order?  Well for users who have never logged in, the next time they log in they will see this change.  however, users who have already used the system will not see the change.  This is because the user’s previous tab definitions have already been defined and stored.  These individual user preferences take precedence over the default settings.

 The settings are actually stored in the SalesLogix database in the VIRTUALFILESYSTEM table.  This is so that regardless of what computer the user logs into the web client with, the settings will carry across.  Now the VIRTUALFILESYSTEM actually contains pretty much everything that is the SalesLogix web client, including all of the entity definitions, screens, code, etc.

 Because of this and because it is just smart, I need to pause here and say: “PROCEED AT YOUR OWN RISK.  MODIFYING THE DATABASE AS DERSCRIBED BELOW CAN BE POTENTIALLY HARMFUL IF YOU DO NOT KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING.  PROCEED ONLY IF YOU UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU ARE DOING AND ALWAYS TRY THIS SORT OF THING IN A TEST SYSTEM FIRST”.

 OK Now that this disclaimer is out of the way, you can find all of your users default settings stored in the VirtualFileSystem by running a query similar to:

Select * from VIRTUALFILESYSTEM where modifyuser = ‘{USERNAME}’ and itemname<>’{USERNAME}’

 The query above needs to be updated to have {USERNAME} changed to the SalesLogix username like “lee” for Lee Hogan.

 

Now to clear all of the user settings you can run a query like:

 

Delete from VIRTUALFILESYSTEM where modifyuser = ‘{USERNAME}’ and itemname<>’{USERNAME}’

After executing the script you would need to do an IIS reset to clear the old settings from the IIS cache.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Kris Halsrud

Kris Halsrud is a Senior Analyst / Developer for Customer FX Corporation.

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest Infor CRM (Saleslogix) and Creatio (bpm'online) news and product updates!

You have Successfully Subscribed!